What Pandemic Dreams be made of?

Airport illustration Abstract vector created by macrovector – www.freepik.com

I jumped out of bed in a tizzy today. And am still trying to get my head around the dream I had.

There are so many people milling about and am almost at the departure gate. The crew aren’t onboarding passengers in queues, or by row numbers. You need to hand over your boarding pass, they check your name on the manifest and allow you to get on board one person at a time.

NO ONE is masked up or with visors on. I think about what awaits on the other side and start fashioning a mask out of the yellow pocket square in my jacket. Should I need extra protection, I have a bigger piece of blue printed silk with me.

But, just before that, I look at the fob end of the luggage tag which is perforated into two stubs. One gets me a welcome drink and the other a meal. So, I go in search and get lost between terminals, with a few helpful souls pointing me this way and that. And all the while am stressing about, why am I not wearing a mask, and why is no one unduly disturbed by it. And will I find my way back to the gate in time after collecting food and drink, or will the plane have taken off without me?

In fact, am wondering how did I get inside the terminal in the first place and get my boarding card issued? And then I wake up.

Have missed the (Air)bus many times in the past, and in those days of old, have taken the next flight. Travel stress induced nightmares usually had to do with me waking up on time or landing up at the right gate on time.

But then, this is still ‘socially distanced’ travel only if you have to time. Maybe, the explanation lies in the extended isolation and lack of social contact, as this Nat Geo piece suggests.

What stuff are Pandemic dreams made of?

This entry was posted in Jay Vikram Bakshi, Jaywalking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.